Top reads for 2023

Once again, I couldn’t read that many books in 2023 but there were a few good books that I am glad I read. Yellowface stands out but my favorite was Always Italicize: how to write while colonized by Alice Te Punga Somerville. End of the year, I picked up a few Vietnamese translations and I am still reading some of it which are great.

  1. Homeland Insecurities by Sanjoy Borbora
  2. The School for Good Mothers by Jessamine Chen
  3. Zikora: A Short Story by Chimamanda Adiche
  4. My Invented Land and Selected Poems by Robin S Ngangom
  5. Lee by Denmit namchu
  6. Magadh by Srikanth Verma
  7. The Visit by Chimamanda Adichie
  8. Always Italicize: how to write while colonized by Alice Te Punga Somerville
  9. Kim Jiyoung, Born 1982 Translated by Jamie Chang
  10. Night Sky with Exit Wounds by Ocean Vuong
  11. The World is the Next Village by Solon Karthak
  12. Stealing my religion: Not just any cultural appropriation by Liz Bucar
  13. Changing Affinities: Ecologies of Human-Mithun Relationships in Northeast India by Abhishruti Sarma and Joseph Zoliana
  14. Palestine by Joe Sacco
  15. Darjeeling Place Names by Sonam Wangyal
  16. Living with oil and coal: Resource Politics and Militarizationin Northeast India by Dolly Kikon
  17. Roman Stories by Jhumpa Lahiri
  18. Yellowface by Rebecca Kuang
  19. Prison Diary by Ho Chi Minh
  20. Endless Field by Nguyễn Ngọc Tư

The list is to keep a track for myself and also to motivate to read more.

Leave a comment